Minutes of the meeting of the Staff and Pensions Committee held on 21 May 2013

Present

Members of the Committee

(appointed by Council on 21 May)

Councillors John Appleton, Jeff Clarke, Sara Doughty, Bill Gifford, Brian Moss and Izzi Seccombe (Chair)

Other Councillors:

John Beaumont, Sarah Boad, Mike Brain, Peter Butlin, Les Caborn, Richard Chattaway, Jonathan Chilvers, Alan Cockburn, Jose Compton, Yousef Dahmash, Corinne Davies, Nicola Davies, Neil Dirveiks, Richard Dodd, Peter Fowler, Jenny Fradgley, Mike Gittus, Colin Hayfield, Martin Heatley, Bob Hicks, John Holland, John Horner, Julie Jackson, Philip Johnson, Kam Kaur, Danny Kendall, Bernard Kirton, Keith Kondakor, Joan Lea, Keith Lloyd, Ann McLauchlan, Phillip Morris-Jones, Peter Morson, Bill Olner, Dave Parsons, Caroline Phillips, Kate Rolfe, Wallace Redford, Keith Richardson, Clive Rickhards, Howard Roberts, Jerry Roodhouse, Chris Saint, Dave Shilton, Jenny St. John, Bob Stevens, June Tandy, Heather Timms, Angela Warner, Alan Webb, Mary Webb, Matt Western, John Whitehouse and Chris Williams.

1. General

(1) Apologies

None.

(2) Members Disclosures of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

None.

2. Chair

The Leader of the Council takes the Chair of this Committee.

3. Election of Vice Chair

The Chair called for nominations for vice-chair.

Councillor Sara Doughty proposed Councillor Brian Moss and was seconded by Councillor Izzi Seccombe.

There were no other nominations.

Resolved

That Councillor Brian Moss be appointed Vice-Chair of the Staff and Pensions Committee.

4. Appointments to Bodies

The Chair proposed appointments to other bodies and was seconded.

Resolved

- (1) That the Pension Fund Investment Board be renamed Pension Fund Investment sub-Committee.
- (2) That the terms of reference of the bodies listed be confirmed.
- (3) That the committee makes the following appointments:

Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee:

Conservative: Cllr John Appleton and Cllr John Horner Labour: Cllr Sara Doughty and Brian Moss

Liberal Democrat: Cllr Bill Gifford

Pool of members for appointments and disciplinary hearings

Conservative: Cllrs Appleton, Caborn, Compton, Gittus, Lea, Morris-

Jones, Shilton, Stevens, Timms, Williams

Labour: Cllrs Beaumont, Chattaway, Hicks, Jackson, O'Rourke,

Parsons, Richardson, Tandy, A Webb

Liberal Democrat Cllrs Boad, Dodd, N Davies, Whitehouse.

Green: one to be advised

Joint Negotiating Body for Staff

Labour: Cllr Keith Richardson Liberal Democrat Cllr Clive Rickhards

Joint Negotiating Body for Teachers

Labour: Cllr Neil Dirveiks
Liberal Democrat: Cllr Clive Rickhards

Chair